Pakistan win toss, opt to bat first


Pakistan have once again decided to trust their batters to post a big total as Shadab Khan has won the toss and opted to bat first in the second T20I against New Zealand at Seddon Park.

The hosts are 1-0 up with Kane Williamson returning to lead them after his partner Sarah Raheem gave birth to their first child.

Experienced pacers Tim Southee and Trent Boult have also returned to the final XI with Mitchell Santner rested ahead of the Test series. Pakistan are unchanged.

New Zealand Martin Guptill, Tim Seifert (wk), Kane Williamson (capt), Devon Conway, Glenn Phillips, Jimmy Neesham, Kyle Jamieson, Scott Kuggeleijn, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Ish Sodhi

Pakistan: Abdullah Shafique, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Haider Ali, Mohammad Hafeez, Shadab Khan (capt), Khushdil Shah, Imad Wasim, Faheem Ashraf, Wahab Riaz, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf