Netflix plans to cancel password sharing with friends

53

Netflix is reportedly testing a new feature to restrict users from sharing their passwords with those who don’t live with the owner of the original account.

According to a report in BBC, some Netflix users have reported seeing a a pop message on their screens saying: “If you don’t live with the owner of this account, you need your own account to keep watching.”

“This test is designed to help ensure that people using Netflix accounts are authorised to do so,” a Netflix’s spokesperson told the news media publication. “In the trial, users can verify they are allowed to access the account by a code, sent via text or email.”